Whilst there are thousands of species of crustaceans, both land and sea and land-dwelling, the type most consumed for food are "decapods"  -or "10 limbed" creatures. These include crabs, lobsters, prawns, shrimp and crayfish.


Facts about  decapod crustaceans:


      1. Lobsters have blue blood. They can live for over 100 years.

Credit: "Lobster" by AJMEXICO, Flickr, SRR

     2. Crayfish walk forwards but swim backwards

Credit: Paulan Daniel, Youtube

3. Spiny lobsters are thought to be social animals and

gather in groups of 12 or more. They migrate in  long chains across the ocean floor, up to 50 lobsters at a time!

Credit: Arkive

4. Crabs and lobsters' eyes are set on stalks which

 enables them to see all around and in different directions  at once

Credit: Cangrejo, by qfwfq78, CC, Flickr

5. Both crabs and lobsters sense the world through hairs on their body which are sensitive to touch, sound,  smell, taste, odor and temperature

Credit: Mark Yokoyama, Flickr, SRR

6. They communicate by flapping their pincers or drumming their claws; and will fight for the best hiding places but also sometimes work together to provide their young with food and protection.

An Atlantic lobster migrates to her breeding ground and fights for a nest. BBC's Blue Planet - BBC Earth

7. Hermit crabs live inside 'mobile homes'  - the discarded seashells of other species, meaning they are  as varied as a fancy dress party! When two hermit crabs meet, they may trade shells. Crabs have even been known to form an orderly chain from biggest to smallest to trade down!

Hermit crabs form a 'vacancy chain'. From John Brown. Taken from BBC's Life Story, narrated by Sir David Attenborough

Contact us: campaigns@crustaceancompassion.org.uk

Crustacean Compassion is a limited company registered in England and Wales.

Registered number: 12980508

Registered office: 86-90 Paul Street, London EC2A 4NE

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

© 2023 by The Voice Project. Proudly created with Wix.com